Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Nominations Sought for Governor's Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture

Wed, 19 Jan 2011 6:47:29 CST

Nominations Sought for Governorís Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture The Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry (ODAFF) is once again looking for nominations for the Governor's Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture. This award was created in 1998 and is designed to honor leaders in the agriculture industry who have exemplified personal values, performance and achievement in Oklahoma. The award winner will be inducted into the Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame located at the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry.

Previous recipients of the award have exhibited high standards of conduct, leadership, innovation, and accomplishment for agriculture. Individuals recognized in previous years have been from different geographic locations throughout Oklahoma and many times were not widely known outside of their specific agricultural group or commodity. However, each and every Hall of Fame inductee has served their community as a leader and strong agricultural producer and made a significant impact on the lives of others.   Recipients will be selected by a selection committee which includes representatives of agricultural commodity organizations as well as the Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture.

Last year, Lew Meibergen became the first agricultural businessman to be named to the Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame. His career as a third generation agricultural businessman highlights the importance of this segment of the farm industry. He was the 13th Hall of Fame inductee. The Picture here is of Meibergen surrounded by other previous inductees into the Ag Hall of Fame that were able to attend the 2010 ceremonies.

"The Governor's Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture gives us the opportunity to recognize those individuals who have made a positive and lasting impact on agriculture in our state," said Jim Reese, Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture.

The deadline for all nominations is Thursday, February 17, 2011 at 5:00 p.m. Any questions regarding the nomination procedure or completion of the official nomination form should be directed to Jason Harvey at (405) 522-5563. Click here to jump to the Oklahoma Department of Ag website where you can find the entry form to nominate someone you feel is deserving.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Younger Cows are Starting to Come to Town, Says Bob Rodenberger  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 10:46:55 CDT
  • BASF's First Bale of Cotton Helps Raise Money for Scholarship  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 10:12:04 CDT
  • Korean Grain Importers to View U.S. Corn Crop Firsthand Across Four States Ahead of Export Exchange 2022  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 09:40:41 CDT
  • Oklahoma Congressional Delegation Honored with Friend of Farm Bureau Awards   Fri, 30 Sep 2022 09:37:41 CDT
  • Fire Weather inputs will become Stronger with elevated Fire Weather moving into the mix through the Weekend  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 09:25:12 CDT
  • Federal Disaster Programs Available to Aid Producers in Forage Loss and Transportation   Fri, 30 Sep 2022 08:53:13 CDT
  • Dr. Kim Anderson Talks Factors Impacting Commodity Markets This Week  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 08:46:47 CDT
  • Legislature allocates $250 million from PREP fund to fuel economic development throughout rural Oklahoma   Fri, 30 Sep 2022 08:44:33 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2022 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.