Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Oklahomans Among Finalists for FFA American Star Awards

Wed, 01 Aug 2012 10:08:16 CDT

Oklahomans Among Finalists for FFA American Star Awards

Two Oklahomans are among the 16 finalists (four per award) selected by the National FFA Organization for the organizationís top awards: American Star Farmer, American Star in Agribusiness, American Star in Agricultural Placement and American Star in Agriscience. These star awards recognize students who have developed outstanding agricultural skill and competency through their career development programs, demonstrated outstanding management skills, earned the American FFA Degree-the organizationís highest level of accomplishment-and met other agricultural education, scholarship and leadership requirements.

Jeremy Weichel of Cordell has been nominated as a Star Farmer, and Taylor Runyan of Atoka has been nominated as a Star in Agroscience.

Each star finalist receives $2,000 from the National FFA Foundation and earns the opportunity to participate in an international experience tour to Costa Rica. A panel of judges will interview the finalists and select one winner for each award at the 85th National FFA Convention, October 24-27, in Indianapolis, In. Winners will receive an additional $2,000 award.

The American FFA Degree recognition programs and tours to Costa Rica are co-sponsored by Alltech, Inc. of Nicholasville, KY; Case IH of Racine, WI, Farm Credit of Greenwood Village, CO; Pioneer Hi-Bred, a DuPont Business of Des Moines, IA; and Syngenta of Greensboro, NC, as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

Star Farmer
Clayton N. Carley - Cissna Park FFA - Illinois
Andrew Kenneth Edson - Nashua-Plainfield FFA, Iowa
Alexander L. Richardson - Meade County FFA, Kentucky
Jeremy Weichel - Cordell FFA, Oklahoma

Star in Agribusiness
Bradley Robert Weaver - Dawson County FFA, Georgia
Zachary Cotton - Spencer County FFA, Kentucky
Austin Crissman - Bells FFA, Texas
Jacob Paul - Randolph Cambria-Friesland FFA, Wisconsin

Star in Agricultural Placement
Kurt Parsons - Porterville FFA, California
Justin Cochran - Franklin County FFA, Georgia
Matthew Marcellus - West Holt FFA, Nebraska
Cody Jackson Walker - Warren County FFA, Tennessee

Star in Agriscience
Kaylyn Stout - Lowndes County FFA, Georgia
Kayleigh Warner - DeKalb Central FFA, Indiana
Rachael Claire Arkfeld - Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca FFA, Nebraska
Taylor Runyan - Atoka FFA, Oklahoma



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2 p.m. Friday, October 22, 2021  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 15:19:14 CDT
  • Friday, October 22, 2021, Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 15:15:18 CDT
  • Labor Shortages are the Root Cause of Stagnant Cattle Prices Says Justin Benavidez  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 13:14:24 CDT
  • OSU Inks Head Football Coach Mike Gundy to New Contract  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 13:11:06 CDT
  • Dairy Management Inc. 2020 Annual Report Available Online  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 12:40:03 CDT
  • Sign Up Now for the 2022 National Farmers Union Women's Conference  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 12:33:48 CDT
  • OSU Agriculture Honors Distinguished Group During Ceremony  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 11:54:25 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2021 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.