Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Dena Welch Claims Top Honors in Best of Wheat Bread Baking Contest at State Fair

Mon, 22 Sep 2014 05:08:10 CDT

Dena Welch Claims Top Honors in Best of Wheat Bread Baking Contest at State Fair Dena Welch, Wellston, was named Senior Division Grand Champion of the "Best of Wheat" Bread Baking Contest with her Whole Wheat Bread, September 21, at the Oklahoma State Fair. Dylan Wilson, Marland, was named Grand Champion of the junior division with his White Bread. (Pictured here is Senior Division Champion Dena Welch)

The contest is an annual event sponsored by the Oklahoma Wheat Commission and State Fair of Oklahoma.

"We had 122 entries from 39 counties this year, all champion or reserve champion winners in the county contests," said Don Schieber, chairman of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission. "We had great attendance and always enjoy the opportunity to award the top bread bakers in the state."

The contest consists of 12 classes, 6 in the senior division and 6 in the junior division. Senior division classes include white bread, whole grain bread, dinner rolls, other wheat breads, sweet breads and machine breads. Junior division classes include white bread, dinner rolls, other wheat breads, sweet breads, specialty shapes, and machine breads.

State champions in the senior division include June McGuire, Stephens County, white bread; Dena Welch, Lincoln County, whole grain bread; Roberta Hinkle, Grady County, dinner rolls; Gayla Bowman, Ellis County, other wheat breads; Travis Bowman, Ellis County, sweet breads; and Melody Thorn, Woodward County, machine breads.

Junior division state champions include Dylan Wilson, Noble County, white bread; Gracie Allen, Rogers County, dinner rolls; Jacob Hinkle, Grady County, other wheat breads; Erin Slagell, Custer County, sweet breads; MacKinzie Overman, Kay County, specialty shapes; and Tayler Spray, Woodward County, machine breads.

The Oklahoma Wheat Commission promotes greater utilization of wheat in both domestic and international markets through research, market development and public education. Five wheat producers representing designated districts across the state serve as the Oklahoma Wheat Commission's board of directors. Current officers are Don Schieber, Chairman, Ponca City; Kenneth Failes, Vice-Chairman, Cherokee; Tom Stephens, Secretary-Treasurer, Guymon; Michael Peters, member, Okarche and David Gammill, member, Chattanooga.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • USDA's Proposed Regulations Under the Packers and Stockyards Act Raises Concerns from NCBA  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 09:25:18 CDT
  • NCGA Calls on Farmers to Contact EPA Regarding Atrazine  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 09:16:46 CDT
  • USMEF Statement on Advancement of Under Secretary for Trade Nomination  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 09:12:48 CDT
  • Record Turkey Prices Expected as Thanksgiving Approaches  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 09:10:50 CDT
  • Checkoff-Funded Research Network Celebrates 35-year Anniversary  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 09:07:52 CDT
  • Intense drying Conditions have Prompted a notable Increase in wildfire activity across Oklahoma  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 08:35:21 CDT
  • Certified Angus Beef Takes Fine Dining to New Heights to Connect with Consumers  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 08:31:28 CDT
  • Oklahoma Hay Market Report for September 27th, 2022  Wed, 28 Sep 2022 08:07:58 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2022 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.