Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm Programming Radio Oklahoma Network  |  7401 N. Kelley Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73111  |  (405) 841-3675  |  Fax: (405) 841-3674


Agricultural News

Logan Davis of Newscastle FFA Shows the Grand Champion Market Steer at the 2010 Tulsa State Fair Junior Livestock Show

Fri, 08 Oct 2010 13:28:31 CDT

Logan Davis of Newscastle FFA Shows the Grand Champion Market Steer at the 2010 Tulsa State Fair Junior Livestock Show

For the first time in 60 years, the Tulsa State Fair selected all four of their Grand Champions for their Junior Livestock Show under one roof- at the same time. The first ever Night of Champions saw four Oklahoma youth rise to the top as their animals were chosen the Grand Champion in their species. We talked about this concept of a Night of Champions with Mark Andrus, President and CEO of Expo Square and the Tulsa State Fair after he had finished his duties of congratulating the Grand and Reserve Grand winners- click on the LISTEN BAR below to hear our brief conversation.

In the Market Steer division- the Grand Champion (pictured here) was shown by Logan Davis of the Newcastle FFA. Logan has the Champion Crossbred Steer. The Reserve Grand Champion Steer was the Champion Maine-Anjou at the 2010 show- exhibited by Tyler Batt of the Cordell FFA Chapter.

Breed Champions in the Steer Division included:

AOB, Blake Runner, Rogers County 4-H

Angus- Ryan Sperle, Washita County 4-H

Charolais- Dillon Duff, Kiowa County 4-H

Chianina- Baylor Bonham, Newcastle 4-H

Hereford- Laken Lierle, Fort Cobb-Braxton FFA

Limousin- Reighly Blakely Oolagah FFA

Maine-Anjou- Tyler Batt, Cordell FFA

Shorthorn- Avry Wood, Stattford FFA

Simmental- Brooke Stout, Norman FFA

Crossbred- Logan Davis, Newscastle FFA

Reserve Breed Champions include:

AOB- Kacy Nance, Harrah FFA

Angus- Reighly Blakely, Oolagah FFA

Charolais- Macy Starks, Cherokee FFA

Chianina- Tyler Batt, Cordell FFA

Hereford- Mary Temple-Lee, Maysville FFA

Limousin- Brock Carter, Sentinel FFA

Maine Anjou- Bailey Buck, Madill FFA

Shorthorn- Garret Starks, El Reno FFA

Crossbred- Jesse Green Wellston FFA

Click here for our Flickr Album of pictures from the Night of Champions.

Click here for the full results of all of the open and junior livestock classes at the 2010 Tulsa State Fair- once they post them.

These Grand Champion Steer will lead off the sale order in the Premium Auction of the top animals that will be sold at 11 AM Friday morning at the Tulsa State Fair.


Ron Hays talks with the President/CEO of the Tulsa State Mark Andrus about the Night of Champions
right-click to download mp3


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Friday, July 23, 2021 Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Fri, 23 Jul 2021 17:07:41 CDT
  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2:00 p.m, Friday, July 23  Fri, 23 Jul 2021 15:45:26 CDT
  • OKFB Foundation for Agriculture announces $16,000 in Educational Grants  Fri, 23 Jul 2021 13:16:28 CDT
  • Smart Irrigation practices Benefit plants and Budgets  Fri, 23 Jul 2021 13:10:33 CDT
  • Plexus Cotton Market Report - July 22, 2021  Fri, 23 Jul 2021 13:07:16 CDT
  • New Southern Plains Blog Post on Teaching the Next Generation about Soil Health   Fri, 23 Jul 2021 11:59:51 CDT
  • Water Resources Center part of Five-year USDA Dam Project  Fri, 23 Jul 2021 09:38:47 CDT
  • Research Shows Grazing Cattle Provide Many Benefits For Both Humans And The Environment  Fri, 23 Jul 2021 06:50:48 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.

    Our Road to Rural Prosperity sponsors!


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2021 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.