Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

AccuGrain of Iowa Honored as Farm Bureau Entrepreneur of the Year

Mon, 11 Jan 2016 14:37:19 CST

AccuGrain of Iowa Honored as Farm Bureau Entrepreneur of the Year The American Farm Bureau Federation has announced an ag technology entry as the Farm Bureau Entrepreneur of the Year as part of its Rural Entrepreneurship Challenge. The winner was announced at AFBF’s 97th Annual Convention and IDEAg Trade Show.

AccuGrain of Rose Hill, Iowa, team lead Ryan Augustine, was selected from a field of four finalists and received a total of $30,000 in prize money to implement his business idea, which is X-ray technology to inventory flowing grain in real time.

Garnering 49 percent of the vote, Farm Specific Technology of Bolivar, Tennessee, team lead Shawn Butler, won the People’s Choice award in the competition and an additional $10,000 in prize money for a no-till crimper for cover crop production. Members of the live audience at the finals competition and members of the general public voted online to select the People’s Choice winner. Tennessee residents cast the most votes (1,229) followed by Iowa (1,068) and Kansas (205).

AgriSync of Dallas Center, Iowa, team lead Casey Niemann, and Fedora Malthouse of Shepherd, Michigan, team lead Julie Baker, were the other two finalists who competed in the final round of the challenge in Orlando.

“Congratulations to all the finalists! We wish them well in their future business endeavors,” AFBF President Bob Stallman said. “We are pleased to be growing the Rural Entrepreneurship Challenge by providing more startup funding and mentorship opportunities for entrepreneurs.”

The final four teams competed for the award by pitching their business ideas to a panel of judges before a live audience. The finalist businesses were chosen from 165 applicants. In addition to the prize money awarded at the convention, each of the four national finalists received $15,000 in October for advancing in the competition.

The challenge, now in its second year, provides opportunities for individuals to showcase business innovations being developed in rural regions of the U.S. It is the first national business competition focused exclusively on rural entrepreneurs working on food and agriculture businesses. The top challenge teams were selected by 40 judges with expertise in business development, equity investment funding management, agribusiness lending and entrepreneurial coaching.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2:00 p.m. Friday, August 23, 2019  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 16:57:11 CDT
  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2:00 p.m. Friday, August 23, 2019  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 16:56:21 CDT
  • USDA Cattle on Feed Report Proves Friendlier Than Expected with Placements 2% Under Last Year  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 15:14:29 CDT
  • Friday Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 14:08:57 CDT
  • Friday Afternoon Market Wrap-Up with Carson Horn  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 14:07:51 CDT
  • American Soybean Association Laments Newly Announced Escalation of Chinese Tariff Situation  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 13:10:45 CDT
  • National Cattlemen's Beef Association Addresses Packing Plant Fire, Details Recovery Efforts Underway  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 12:54:18 CDT
  • Corn Farmers Appreciative of USDA's Revised Methodology for MFP Payment Calculations  Fri, 23 Aug 2019 11:01:20 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show AFR Insurance Stillwater Milling KIS FUTURES, INC. Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2019 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.