Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211

Agricultural News

Anne Anderson of Texas New Chair of Cattlemen's Beef Board- Oklahoma Grabs Three Spots on CBB Executive Committee

Fri, 29 Jan 2016 22:46:50

Anne Anderson of Texas New Chair of Cattlemen's Beef Board- Oklahoma Grabs Three Spots on CBB Executive Committee Cattle producers Anne Anderson of Austin, Texas, Brett Morris of Ninnekah, Oklahoma, and Joan Ruskamp of Dodge, Nebraska are the new leadership team for the Cattlemen’s Beef Board, elected unanimously by fellow Beef Board members during the 2016 Cattle Industry Convention in San Diego on Jan. 29, 2016. Anderson will serve as chairman, Morris as vice chairman and Ruskamp as secretary/ treasurer of the Cattlemen’s Beef Board to lead the national Beef Checkoff Program for the coming year.

The Beef Board also elected members to serve on the CBB Executive Committee and others to fill the CBB seats on the Beef Promotion Operating Committee. With these appointments, Oklahoma will have three of the twelve members that will serve on the CBB Executive Committee over the next year- Vice Chair Brett Morris and members Barbara Jacques and Chuck Coffey.


Newly elected Beef Board Chairman Anne Anderson is a cow-calf and stocker operator from Austin Texas and was the first executive director of the Texas Beef Council. She and her husband, Jim, own a small cattle ranch in Colorado County and a larger one, which Anne manages, in Menard and MuCulloch counties. In addition to ranching, she spent more than 15 years providing assistance to individuals and groups trying to build new companies - mostly in the beef industry, and all in the food industry. Anne also is a co-founder and former CEO of AgInfoLink Global, one of the largest food-tracking companies in the U.S., with additional international offices in Australia, Canada, Mexico and Argentina.

Newly appointed CBB Vice Chairman Brett Morris is a third-generation dairy farmer and runs a dairy, cow/calf and stocker operation, as well as the Washita Fertilizer Company, in partnership with his father. Theirs is a diversified farm operation, including about 1,000 acres of alfalfa, wheat and grassland, 65 registered Holstein cows for milking, 100-125 beef cows, and 200 stocker calves. Morris served as chairman of the Oklahoma Dairy Commission, vice chairman of the Oklahoma Johne's Advisory Committee, as a district voting delegate to DFA, a director of the Federation of State Beef Councils, and as vice chairman of the Oklahoma Beef Council.

2016 CBB Secretary/Treasurer Joan Ruskamp and her husband, Steve, operate a feedlot and row-crop farm west of Dodge, Nebraska, that has been in Steve's family for nearly 100 years. On the farm, Joan's main jobs include walking pens, cattle doctoring/ processing, and office manager. She is a graduate of the University of Nebraska at Curtis, where she earned an associate degree in veterinary medicine in 1980. Joan has been very active in the beef industry, with service to numerous producer organizations. In addition, she has been a 4-H leader for about 20 years, an EMT for more than a decade, and a religious education teacher for nearly 30 years.


The 12-member CBB Executive Committee includes the Board’s three officers and eight members elected at large. The CBB elected the following members to its 2016 Executive committee: Vice Chairman Brett Morris, who will serve as chairman of the Executive Committee; and members Anne Anderson (CBB chairman); Brett Morris (CBB vice chairman), Joan Ruskamp (CBB secretary/ treasurer); Laurie Bryant, an importer representative; Chuck Coffey of Oklahoma; Barbara Jacques of Oklahoma; Jana Malot of Pennsylvania; Paul Moss of Tennessee; Kent Pruismann of Iowa; Mike Smith of California; Janna Stubbs of Texas; and, as immediate past CBB Chairman, Jimmy Maxey of California will serve as an advisor to the committee.

The Executive Committee operates under the direction of and within the policies established by the full Board and is responsible for carrying out Beef Board policies and conducting business and making decisions necessary to administer the terms and provisions of the Act and Order between meetings of the full Board.


The Beef Promotion Operating Committee was created by the Beef Promotion Research Act to help coordinate state and national beef checkoff programs. The 20-person committee includes 10 members of the Cattlemen’s Beef Board, among them the Board’s three officers and seven others elected directly by Beef Board members. The other 10 members are appointed from the Federation of State Beef Councils.

CBB members elected to the 2016 Beef Promotion Operating Committee during the annual meeting in San Antonio include: Chairman Anne Anderson; Vice Chairman Brett Morris; Secretary/Treasurer Joan Ruskamp; Jared Brackett of Idaho; Sara Childs of Florida; Joe Guthrie of Virginia; Jeanne Harland of Illinois; Chuck Kiker of Texas; Stacy McClintock of Kansas; and Gary Sharp of South Dakota.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Hannah Thompson-Weeman on the Book- What Would Jesus REALLY Eat?  Fri, 06 Dec 2019 13:49:38
  • US Pork to China Now at Fast and Furious Pace Based on Latest US Meat Export Stats  Fri, 06 Dec 2019 13:43:49
  • Atop the RON Rural Soapbox - Former Secretary John Block  Fri, 06 Dec 2019 10:52:47 CST
  • Atop the RON Rural Soapbox - Former Secretary John Block  Fri, 06 Dec 2019 10:52:20 CST
  • Pork Producers and Farm Bureau Challenge California's Prop 12 in Federal Court  Fri, 06 Dec 2019 11:49:04
  • Friday Preopening Market Update with Dave Lanning  Fri, 06 Dec 2019 07:12:52 CST
  • OSU's Kim Anderson Talks about the World 2019 Wheat Marketing Year and 2020 Wheat Prices  Fri, 06 Dec 2019 03:22:39 CST
  • Stakeholder Announcement: RMA Reminds Producers Who Received ‘Top-up Payments’ of Crop Insurance Requirements  Thu, 05 Dec 2019 19:05:06 CST

  • More Headlines...

    © 2008-2019 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.