Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Deadline to Nominate Individuals for the Oklahoma Excellence in Agriculture Awards Is Friday

Mon, 08 Feb 2016 15:26:53 CST

Deadline to Nominate Individuals for the Oklahoma Excellence in Agriculture Awards Is Friday Oklahoma has a rich agricultural history thanks to dedicated farmers. In 1998, the Governorís Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture was created to recognize those who have helped lead the industry while demonstrating exemplary personal values and pursuing agricultural achievements in Oklahoma. The deadline for nominations is THIS WEEK- with Friday, February 12th the final day that nominations will be accepted by the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry (ODAFF) for a total of four Oklahoma Excellence in Agriculture Awards. (Pictured here is the 2011 Award Winner- Wayne Krehbiel of Hydro)

The award winners will be announced at a recognition ceremony on March 30 at the state capitol as part of the stateís annual Oklahoma Ag Day celebration.

Examples of eligible agriculture enterprises for the Governorís Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture nominee are: livestock and crop production, agribusiness, forestry, horticulture and nursery management. In addition to considering the nomineeís production agriculture involvement, the application also recognizes leadership in agricultural and state organizations as well as additional awards and honors. The winner will be someone with at least 25 years in agriculture who derives the bulk of his or her income from agriculture or has retired from an agricultural enterprise.

Previous award-winners have represented different areas of Oklahoma as well as a variety of agricultural groups and commodities. Past recipients have guided their families and communities to success by excelling as dairymen, cattle ranchers, pork producers, wheat farmers, conservationists and educators. Uniting previous Hall of Fame inductees is their service to their community in addition to their contribution to the agriculture industry.

In addition to the Governorís Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture, ODAFF also presents the Agriculture Environmental Stewardship Award, Outstanding Legacy in Agriculture Award and Outstanding Public Service in Agriculture Award. The Legacy in Agriculture Award is the only one strictly for posthumous nominees.

Governor Fallinís Agriculture Environmental Stewardship Award recognizes Oklahoma agriculturalists that are leaders in developing and adopting outstanding environmentally innovative agricultural practices. This award will highlight the efforts of an Oklahoma agriculture producer who is a steward of the environment and is dedicated to conserving the natural resources of Oklahoma while helping to ensure a continued supply of food and fiber.

Governor Fallinís Outstanding Public Service in Agriculture Award honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions of public service to Oklahoma agriculture. The recipient will be someone who works diligently to improve public perception of agriculture in Oklahoma. The recipient should be a person who has given time and talent unselfishly to advance the Oklahoma agricultural industry.

Governor Fallinís Outstanding Legacy to Agriculture Award posthumously honors someone who made significant life-long contributions to Oklahoma agriculture. The unique or extraordinary contributions the individual made to Oklahoma serves as a role model for the agriculture industry.

ďThe Oklahoma Excellence in Agriculture Awards give us the opportunity to recognize those individuals who have made a positive and lasting impact on agriculture in our state,Ē said Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture Jim Reese.

The deadline for all nominations is Friday, Feb. 12 at 5 p.m. The recipients will be selected by a committee of representatives from agricultural commodity organizations and farm and ranch organizations. Any questions regarding the nomination procedure or completion of the official nomination form can be directed to Jason Harvey at (405) 522-5563.

Click here for the link on the ODAFF for the application nomination.

Previous award-winners of the Governorís Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture

S.F. "Pamp" Howe-1998
Alvin "Buck" Clements-1999
George W. Stone-2000
Erwin R. Duerksen-2001
Henry Jo Von Tungeln-2002
Paul Jackson-2003
Ralph Chain-2004
Tom Gilliam-2005
Murray Williams-2006
L. E. Castle-2007
Paul Hitch-2008
Elmore Bathurst-2009
Lew Meibergen-2010
Wayne Krehbiel-2011
Jack Givens-2012
John Hughes-2013
Rodd Moesel-2014
Joe Mayer-2015

Previous recipient Agriculture Environmental Stewardship Award
Mike Thralls-2015



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2 p.m. Friday, October 22, 2021  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 15:19:14 CDT
  • Friday, October 22, 2021, Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 15:15:18 CDT
  • Labor Shortages are the Root Cause of Stagnant Cattle Prices Says Justin Benavidez  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 13:14:24 CDT
  • OSU Inks Head Football Coach Mike Gundy to New Contract  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 13:11:06 CDT
  • Dairy Management Inc. 2020 Annual Report Available Online  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 12:40:03 CDT
  • Sign Up Now for the 2022 National Farmers Union Women's Conference  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 12:33:48 CDT
  • OSU Agriculture Honors Distinguished Group During Ceremony  Fri, 22 Oct 2021 11:54:25 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2021 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.