Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Leaders in Oklahoma Conservation Honored at 2016 Conservation Day

Mon, 28 Mar 2016 08:18:49 CDT

Leaders in Oklahoma Conservation Honored at 2016 Conservation Day The Oklahoma Association of Conservation Districts (OACD) sponsored "Conservation Day at the Capitol" on this past week. The Oklahoma Conservation Commission (OCC) cosponsored the event. Several of the state's local conservation districts displayed exhibits at the events along with partner agencies.

The exhibits were displayed in the Capitol Rotunda on the fourth floor from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. The displays featured critical conservation activities that districts help facilitate, such as, water quality and quantity, air quality and upstream flood control structure maintenance.

OACD president Steve House welcomed the attendees including several state representatives and senators stating, "The conservation partnership is essential to the health of Oklahoma. Conservation Districts protect the water, air, and soil on which we all depend. Today, we will recognize those individuals that surpass even the highest of expectations in protecting our natural resources."

The awards were emceed by Larry Wright, OACD Vice-President. Oklahoma State Conservationist, Gary O'Neill and Oklahoma Conservation Commission Chairman, Mike Rooker present.

Samuel Grant Victor, Jr. of Ottawa County received the Outstanding District Cooperator Award, sponsored by the Nature Conservancy of Oklahoma. He was nominated by the Ottawa County Conservation District. Jimmy Emmons of Dewey County, on the board of directors of the Dewey County Conservation District, received the Outstanding District Director Award, sponsored by the Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation. Hughes County Conservation District received the Outstanding District Award, sponsored by Vickie Mackey.

Lisa Knauf-Owen, OCC assistant director, emceed as Mark Thomas, executive vice president of the Oklahoma Press Association, joined Commissioner Mike Rooker in presenting Excellence in Communication awards. Kay County Conservation District received First Place Excellence in Communication. Deer Creek Conservation District received Second Place Excellence in Communication. Caney Valley Conservation District received Excellence in Innovative Communication. Tina Anderson, General Manager of The Blackwell Journal Tribune, was recognized for Outstanding Support of Conservation by an OPA Member Newspaper. She was nominated by the Kay County Conservation District.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Youth Expo Sale of Champions Sale Order Available Here- Sale Set for 4 PM Friday  Fri, 17 Mar 2023 04:50:54 CDT
  • Rural Voters Dominated Vote to Defeat Recreational Marijuana March 7th  Fri, 10 Mar 2023 07:13:05 CST
  • Ron Hays Talks to Israeli Ag Tour Guide Colin Lotzof About the Miraclel of Ag in Israel  Wed, 22 Feb 2023 22:11:04 CST
  • OALP Members Experience First Hand View of Cutting Edge Drip Irrigation Technology as Israel Travel Ends  Wed, 22 Feb 2023 10:51:49 CST
  • OALP Members Get First Hand View of Cutting Edge Drip Irrigation Technology as Israel Travel Ends  Wed, 22 Feb 2023 10:50:10 CST
  • Oklahoma Ag Leadership Program Sees Fruit, Beef and Dairy Production North of the Sea of Galilee in Israel  Mon, 20 Feb 2023 21:56:02 CST
  • Oklahoma Ag Leadership Program Sees Diverse Farm Operations in Jordan River Valley of Israel  Sun, 19 Feb 2023 21:17:30 CST
  • Israeli Tour Guide Mark Kedem Talks About The Cultural Aspects of What Class XX of OALP is Experiencing   Sat, 18 Feb 2023 22:17:23 CST

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2024 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.