Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm Programming Radio Oklahoma Network  |  7401 N. Kelley Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73111  |  (405) 841-3675  |  Fax: (405) 841-3674


Agricultural News

Michael Peters of Okarche to Serve as Chairman of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission for 2017-2018

Thu, 27 Jul 2017 05:46:35 CDT

Michael Peters of Okarche to Serve as Chairman of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission for 2017-2018 At their regular July Board Meeting, the Oklahoma Wheat Commission has installed new officers for its 2017/2018 fiscal year. Michael Peters from Okarche, OK, District 3 Commissioner was appointed the new Chairman by his fellow board members. David Gammill from Chattanooga, OK, District 4 Commissioner became Vice-Chairman and Don Schieber from Ponca City, OK, District 5 Commissioner will serve as Secretary-Treasurer. Kenneth Failes from Cherokee, OK, District 1 Commissioner and Tom Stephens from Guymon, OK, District 2 Commissioner will serve as members.

“I am excited about my appointment as Chairman to the Oklahoma Wheat Commission, Peters said, and it is an honor to continue to serve the wheat farmers in Oklahoma.” Peters has been farming for over 26 years and is active in his community with the rural fire department association, St. John’s Lutheran Church, board member of the CHS Coop in Okarche and member of the Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association and U.S. Wheat Associates.    

“Michael has been instrumental in owning and managing a successful full time farming operation that is made up of wheat, hay and cattle production. It is also beneficial to have his knowledge on state and national levels when making funding decisions on wheat research and marketing efforts that in turn will help Oklahoma wheat producers” said Mike Schulte, Executive Director of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission. Michael and his wife, Linda, currently run Peters Family Farm in Okarche, OK.

“We want to thank Tom Stephens, District 2 Commissioner from Guymon, OK for serving as Chairman this past year and we are looking forward to working with Michael under his leadership this year,” said Mike Schulte, Executive Director of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission.

(Pictured here are the Oklahoma Wheat Commissioners for the 2017/18 fiscal year - Kenneth Failes, member, Cherokee, OK; Don Schieber, Secretary-Treasurer, Ponca City, OK; Michael Peters, Chairman, Okarche, OK; Tom Stephens, member, Guymon, OK and David Gammill, Vice-Chairman, Chattanooga, OK.)

Source- Oklahoma Wheat Commission



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Brazil's Ag Minister Breaks News of Government's Decision to Approve Tariff on US Ethanal in Tweet  Wed, 23 Aug 2017 18:52:03 CDT
  • State Animal Health Officials Monitor Equine Infectious Anemia in Southwest Kansas  Wed, 23 Aug 2017 15:48:57 CDT
  • Cooperative Extension Offers Producers Diagnostic Service to Test Weeds for Herbicide Resistance  Wed, 23 Aug 2017 15:39:36 CDT
  • Activists Boldly Upfront About Their True Goals for Animal Agriculture, "We're Not Here to Negotiate"  Wed, 23 Aug 2017 14:55:47 CDT
  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2:00 p.m. Wednesday, August 23, 2017  Wed, 23 Aug 2017 14:48:20 CDT
  • Feeder Steers and Heifers Sell Mostly 1.00 - 3.00 Lower Wednesday at OKC West Livestock Auction  Wed, 23 Aug 2017 14:39:28 CDT
  • Wednesday Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Wed, 23 Aug 2017 14:32:04 CDT
  • Wednesday Afternoon Market Wrap-Up with Carson Horn   Wed, 23 Aug 2017 14:17:41 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Livestock Exchange Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Stillwater Milling American Farmers & Ranchers KIS FUTURES, INC. Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2017 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup

    WebReady powered by WireReady® NSI