Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm Programming Radio Oklahoma Network  |  7401 N. Kelley Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73111  |  (405) 841-3675  |  Fax: (405) 841-3674


Agricultural News

State Fair "Bread Winners" - Freudenberger and Thompson Named OK State Fair's Champion Bakers

Mon, 25 Sep 2017 10:00:07 CDT

State Fair Kaye Freudenberger from Coyle, Okla. in Payne County, recently placed first in the Whole Grain Bread Category of the Senior Division at the State “Best of Wheat” Bread Baking contest held on September 24 at the Oklahoma State Fair. Her entry of 100% Whole Wheat Bread topped the class also winning her the title of Grand Champion for the Senior Division with her entry.

Seven year old, Kian Thompson from Perry, Okla. in Noble County, placed first in the White Bread Category of the Junior Division at the State “Best of Wheat” Bread Baking contest held on September 24 at the Oklahoma State Fair. His entry of White Bread topped the class also winning him the title of Grand Champion for the Junior Division with his entry.

The contest is an annual event sponsored by the Oklahoma Wheat Commission and State Fair of Oklahoma.

“We had 125 entries from 41 counties this year, all champion or reserve champion winners in the county contests,” said David Gammill, Vice-Chairman of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission. “We had great attendance and always enjoy the opportunity to award the top bread bakers in the state.”

The contest consists of 12 classes, 6 in the senior division and 6 in the junior division. Senior division classes include white bread, whole grain bread, dinner rolls, other wheat breads, sweet breads and machine breads. Junior division classes include white bread, dinner rolls, other wheat breads, sweet breads, specialty shapes, and machine breads.

State Champions in the Senior division include: June McGuire, Stephens County, white bread; Kaye Freudenberger, Logan County, Whole Grain Breads; June Shepherd, Kay County, dinner rolls; Toni Carpenter, Payne County, other wheat breads; Brandi Bumgardner, Okfuskee County, sweet breads and John Otto, Cleveland County, machine breads.

State Champions in the Junior division include: Kian Thompson, Noble County, white bread; Beth Bollinger, McClain County, dinner rolls; Jacob Hinkle, Grady County, other wheat breads; Sarah Walker, Payne County, sweet breads; Sidney Smith, Tillman County, specialty shapes and Tayler Spray, Woodward County, machine breads.

The Oklahoma Wheat Commission promotes greater utilization of wheat in both domestic and international markets through research, market development and public education. Five wheat producers representing designated districts across the state serve as the Oklahoma Wheat Commission’s board of directors. Current officers are Michael Peters, Chairman, Okarche; David Gammill, Vice-Chairman, Chattanooga; Don Schieber, Secretary-Treasurer, Ponca City; Kenneth Failes, member, Cherokee and Tom Stephens, member, Guymon.

Source - Oklahoma Wheat Commission



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2:00 p.m. Friday, December 15, 2017  Fri, 15 Dec 2017 14:52:48 CST
  • Pork Producers Hail Organic Rule Withdrawal, Thank Perdue for Listening to Farmers' Concerns   Fri, 15 Dec 2017 14:25:55 CST
  • Noble's CEO Bill Buckner Says When It Comes to the Next Frontier to Explore - We're Standing On It  Fri, 15 Dec 2017 14:17:44 CST
  • Friday Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Fri, 15 Dec 2017 14:07:22 CST
  • Friday Afternoon Market Wrap-Up with Carson Horn   Fri, 15 Dec 2017 14:04:02 CST
  • Drought Conditions Creep Higher Across Oklahoma According to Latest Drought Monitor Report  Fri, 15 Dec 2017 14:47:41 CST
  • OSU's FAPC Center Highlights Its $52 Million Economic Impact on Oklahoma's Food Industry in 2017  Fri, 15 Dec 2017 11:44:40 CST
  • CattleFax Analysts Present Cattle Market Expectations for 2018 in Upcoming Webinar - Register Now  Fri, 15 Dec 2017 11:34:08 CST

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Livestock Exchange Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Stillwater Milling American Farmers & Ranchers KIS FUTURES, INC. Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    Find more about Weather in Oklahoma City, OK

    © 2008-2017 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.