Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Harvust Wins Ag Innovation Challenge

Fri, 15 Jan 2021 07:33:39 CST

Harvust Wins Ag Innovation Challenge Harvust is the winner of the seventh annual Farm Bureau Ag Innovation Challenge, becoming the 2021 Farm Bureau Entrepreneur of the Year. AFBF, in partnership with Farm Credit, announced the winner at AFBF’s Virtual Annual Convention.
Walla Walla, Washington-based Harvust’s software platform helps farmers successfully hire, train and communicate with employees. The company received a total of $50,000 in prize money to help grow the business. The Harvust team is led by Riley Clubb, a Washington Farm Bureau member.

Agro Empresas Black Belt of Coamo, Puerto Rico, won the People’s Choice Award, which is decided by public vote, and received a total of $20,000. Luis Raimundo Bures Martinez, a Puerto Rico Farm Bureau member, is team lead for the company, which standardizes methods and processes for hydroponic crop production.

Arbré Technologies Inc. of Wisconsin, led by Matthieu Vollmer, a Wisconsin Farm Bureau member, and TerraClear Inc. of Idaho, led by Trevor Thompson, an Idaho Farm Bureau member, are the other two finalist teams that competed in the final round of the competition.

The final four teams were selected on Friday from 10 semi-finalist business owners who presented to a panel of six industry judges. Each of the 10 finalists was awarded $7,500 and the final four teams were awarded a total of $15,000 each.

“Innovation is at the heart of what we do as farmers and ranchers, and these Challenge finalists have created a wide array of solutions to help us continue to grow plentiful, healthy food, fuel and fiber,” said AFBF President Zippy Duvall. “I look forward to seeing these companies continue to grow as their products and services are utilized on farms and ranches across the country.” The Challenge provides opportunities for Farm Bureau members to showcase business innovations being developed for agriculture.

The Entrepreneur of the Year was selected by a four-person judging panel: Jamie Johansson, president, California Farm Bureau Federation; Nick Wijnberg, vice president – food and agribusiness, Farm Credit; Tom Schryver, executive director of the Center for Regional Economic Advancement, Cornell University; and Taya Spelhaug, TechSpark manager – North Dakota, Microsoft.

Farm Bureau is proud to recognize these businesses, in partnership with sponsors Farm Credit, Bayer Crop Science, Farm Bureau Bank, Farm Bureau Financial Services, FMC Corporation and John Deere.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Atop the RON Rural Soapbox - Former Secretary John Block  Sun, 26 Sep 2021 11:15:18 CDT
  • Superior Livestock Spet. 23 Video Auction Market Report  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 16:07:04 CDT
  • Friday, September 24, 2021, Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 15:55:23 CDT
  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2 p.m. Friday, September 24, 2021  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 15:45:35 CDT
  • The Night of Champions: A Brand-New Experience at the Tulsa State Fair  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 15:35:48 CDT
  • ODAFF to Host Two Unwanted Pesticide Disposal Days in Oct.  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 13:08:27 CDT
  • Four Key Issues Impacting the Pork Industry  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 12:58:27 CDT
  • USDA Announces Intent to Establish an Equity Commission, Solicits Nominations for Membership  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 10:57:17 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2021 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.