Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Michael Peters of Okarche, Okla. takes Position of Vice Chairman of U.S. Wheat Associates

Thu, 09 Jun 2022 08:21:28 CDT

Michael Peters of Okarche, Okla. takes Position of Vice Chairman of U.S. Wheat Associates Rhonda Larson, East Grand Forks, Minn., started her year as 2022/23 Chairperson of the U.S. Wheat Associates (USW) board of directors June 8, 2022, at their annual meeting in Bend, Ore. Michael Peters of Okarche, Okla., took his position as Vice Chairman. Clark Hamilton, Ririe, Idaho, began his year as Secretary-Treasurer. Darren Padget, Grass Valley, Ore., will serve one year as USW Past Chairman. USW is the export market development organization for the U.S. wheat industry.

"I want to thank the entire wheat family for their support," Larson said to the directors. "We heard here about all the challenges we face. But with your help, I look forward to representing American wheat farmers in overseas markets."

She will soon represent growers at the World Trade Organization's 12th Ministerial Meeting in Geneva, Switzerland, June 12 to 15, 2022.

Larson has been a board member of the Minnesota Wheat Research & Promotion Council for 17 years, serving as chair from 2010 to 2012. She served on the Wheat Foods Council board and is a long-time member of the Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers and the Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Association.

Honored Service

Padget was honored at a reception June 7, 2022, for his service as USW Chairman, which covered two years because of pandemic travel restrictions.

"Considering Darren's many years of service it would be hard to measure all the positive things he has done to help wheat farm families here and across the country," said Oregon Wheat Commission CEO Amanda Hoey.

Previously, Padget held positions on the Oregon Wheat Growers League board of directors and executive committee for seven years, serving as president in 2010. He chaired the Research and Technology Committee for the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) and is the Vice Chairman of the Wheat Marketing Center board of directors. He is a commissioner with the Oregon Wheat Commission.

Pictured: 2022/23 USW Officers. (L-R) Michael Peters, Okarche, Okla., Vice Chairman, Darren Padget, Grass Valley, Ore., Past Chairman; Rhonda Larson, East Grand Forks, Minn.; Chairperson; Clark Hamilton, Ririe, Idaho, Secretary-Treasurer; and Vince Peterson, USW President.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2 p.m. June 24, 2022  Fri, 24 Jun 2022 15:44:28 CDT
  • Statement from Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack on Passage of Keep Kids Fed Act  Fri, 24 Jun 2022 14:23:01 CDT
  • June 24, 2022, Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Fri, 24 Jun 2022 14:20:54 CDT
  • Statement from Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack on Supreme Court Ruling in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization  Fri, 24 Jun 2022 13:16:34 CDT
  • Cattle raisers disappointed by Texas Supreme Court decision on high-speed rail  Fri, 24 Jun 2022 12:52:37 CDT
  • ASA Now Accepting Applications for the Conservation Legacy Awards  Fri, 24 Jun 2022 12:35:44 CDT
  • U.S. Supreme Court Overturns Roe v. Wade!   Fri, 24 Jun 2022 12:18:11 CDT
  • House Democrats Release Statement on Overturning of Roe v. Wade  Fri, 24 Jun 2022 12:06:32 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2022 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.