Oklahoma Farm Report's Blue-Green Gazette coverage of 4-H and FFA events masthead graphic with logos from those 2 organizations.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108   | &nbsp(405) 601-9211


Youth News

Adison Thompson of Noble 4-H Shows Grand Champion Market Hog at 2017 OYE

Fri, 17 Mar 2017 13:12:21 CDT

Adison Thompson of Noble 4-H Shows Grand Champion Market Hog at 2017 OYE 2017 Oklahoma Youth Expo Market Hog Judge Will Winter had to place three days worth of market hogs to get to Thursday evening, when he was able to make his final selections and pointed his finger at the Champion Hampshire as the best of over two thousand barrows that made it to the 2017 OYE. The Grand Champion Market Hog is owned and was shown by Adison Thompson of Noble 4-H.

Winter stayed with the Hamps for his Reserve Grand Champion- pointing to Faith Palmer of McCurtain County 4-H and her reserve Hampshire as the second best hog in the house.

Hunter McKinnon of Locust Grove FFA, who showed the Champion Crossbred, earned Bronze Medalion honors.

Besides these three barrows, 62 other barrows will also be a part of the Sale of Champions this afternoon. Click here to see the Sale of Champions Sale Order Catalog.

The complete list of Champions and Reserve Champions in the Market Barrow Competition includes:

Champion Berkshire: Kasen Dunham, Fort Supply FFA
Reserve Champion Berkshire: Dakota Bray, Wilson FFA

Champion Chester White: Teegan Shepard, Perkins-Tryon FFA
Reserve Champion Chester White: Kadence Mondy, Fletcher FFA

Champion Duroc: Garrison Straka, El Reno 4-H
Reserve Champion Duroc: Grace Palmer, McCurtain County 4-H

Champion Hampshire: Adison Thompson, Noble 4-H
Reserve Champion Hampshire: Faith Palmer, McCurtain County 4-H

Champion Poland China: Colton Hager, Dibble FFA
Reserve Champion Poland China: Macy Goodson, Wilson FFA

Champion Spot: Elizabeth Schneider, Seiling FFA
Reserve Champion Spot: Braden Alwert, Garber FFA

Champion Yorkshire: Gavin Straka
Reserve Champion Yorkshire: Paden Jackson, Mt. View- Gotebo FFA

Champion Crossbred: Hunter McKinnon, Locust Grove FFA
Reserve Champion Crossbred: Anna Franke, Covington- Douglas 4-H

After the Grand Drive- Radio Oklahoma Ag Network Farm Director Ron Hays talked with judge Will Winter about the show- click on the LISTEN BAR at the bottom of this story to hear their conversation.

Our Coverage of the 2017 Oklahoma Youth Expo is a service of ITC Great Plains, Your Energy Superhighway- learn more about this high voltage, transmission only utility and their commitment to the communities they serve which is the cornerstone of their business-click here for their website. We also salute the title sponsor of the 2017 OYE, McDonalds- click here for more information about how McDonalds sources USDA inspected beef from US ranchers- as well as the other responsibly grown food you enjoy under the Golden Arches.

Reports will be heard daily on great radio stations that cover Oklahoma and that are a part of the Radio Oklahoma Ag Network- on the internet- our reports of the 2017 OYE can be found on the Blue Green Gazette page- available here. We will be adding pictures daily to our official 2017 OYE Album of Photos on FLICKR, found here.

For more information about the Oklahoma Youth Expo, click here for the home page of the OYE website.

Click here for the complete schedule of all of the events at the 2017 Oklahoma Youth Expo.


Ron Hays talks with OYE Barrow Judge Will Winter about the 2017 show.
right-click to download mp3


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI



Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

© 2008-2022 Oklahoma Farm Report
Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.