Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm Programming Radio Oklahoma Network  |  7401 N. Kelley Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73111  |  (405) 841-3675  |  Fax: (405) 841-3674


Agricultural News

OSU Ag Communications Senior Lisa Brown Wins Forrest Bassford Student Award at National Ag Media Summit

Fri, 30 Jul 2010 6:39:18 CDT

OSU Ag Communications Senior Lisa Brown Wins Forrest Bassford Student Award at National Ag Media Summit Lisa Brown, a senior agricultural communications student at Oklahoma State University (OSU), is the recipient of the 2010 Forrest Bassford Student Award given by Intervet/Schering-Plough Animal Health and the Livestock Publications Council. Brown was presented a $2,000 scholarship and a plaque during the Ag Media Summit (AMS) held in St. Paul, MN, July 25-27.

A native of Keenesburg, CO, Brown is an active member of Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow. She also has served as an agricultural ambassador for the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at OSU to promote post secondary education to high school students. She will graduate in May 2011.             

Brown was an editorial intern for the High Plains/Midwest Ag Journal during the summer of 2009. Throughout the internship, she served as public relation's correspondent for the award-winning "All Aboard Wheat Harvest" program, in which she managed social networking efforts, edited daily blog posts, interviewed growers, communicated with state wheat association personnel and designed the weekly two-page, full-color spread. She also wrote three feature articles, including one cover story.             

Each year, following a competitive application process, the student program awards four young people travel scholarships to attend AMS. In addition to Brown, this year's travel award winners were Nicole Ely, Kansas State University; Kelsey Fletcher, Texas Tech University; and Kristen Odom, Texas Tech University. While at the meeting, the four finalists' portfolios are reviewed and each is interviewed by a panel of professionals. This is the 25th year for the Student Award Program, which was named after LPC founding member Forrest Bassford in 1992.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Collaboration Will Propel Advancements  Thu, 06 Oct 2022 11:25:27 CDT
  • NCBA Urges EPA to Press Pause on New WOTUS Rulemaking  Thu, 06 Oct 2022 10:32:07 CDT
  • Beef Industry Scholarship Applications Are Now Available for Undergraduate Students  Thu, 06 Oct 2022 10:05:07 CDT
  • Oklahoma Drought Levels Rise in All Categories This Week, But Chance of Rain In Forecast   Thu, 06 Oct 2022 09:43:41 CDT
  • Market Update with Paul Dykstra-Texas Grade Tumbles   Thu, 06 Oct 2022 09:21:23 CDT
  • Best Chance for Rain Shows up in Western Oklahoma and Panhandle Over the Next Week   Thu, 06 Oct 2022 09:03:52 CDT
  • Triangle H Named CAB Feedyard Commitment to Excellence Honoree   Thu, 06 Oct 2022 08:46:38 CDT
  • Top Winners of the 2022 Tulsa State Fair Market Animal Show Awarded Over $400,000   Thu, 06 Oct 2022 08:43:20 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2022 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.