Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Senator Eddie Fields Named Chair of Oklahoma Senate Ag Committee

Wed, 08 Dec 2010 22:13:39 CST

Senator Eddie Fields Named Chair of Oklahoma Senate Ag Committee Senate President Pro Tempore Designate Brian Bingman, R-Sapulpa, announced additional Committee Chairman and Vice Chairman for standing committees and Chair and Vice Chairs of all Appropriations Subcommittees today.

“I am very proud to be able to call on such outstanding leaders today,” stated Bingman. “They bring exceptional talent and experience to the table and will no doubt help move Oklahoma forward to a better future.”

Of interest to the Oklahoma Ag Community, the Chairman of the Senate Agriculture and Rural Development Committee, Ron Justice of Chickasha, becomes the Vice Chair of that Committee but the Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee for Natural Resources. Taking the Chairmanship of the Senate Ag Committee for the coming year is Senator Eddie Fields of Wynona. Senator David Myers of Ponca City assumes the Chairmanship of the full Appropriations Committee. Former OSU President Jim Halligan takes the Chairmanship of the Appropriations Subcommittee for Education and Woodward Senator Bryce Marlatt will be Chair of the Appropriations Subcommittee for General Government and Transportation- meaning he will have a lot of input about rural road and bridge issues. Of course, the announcement earlier that Senator Mike Schulz of Altus will serve as the Senate Majority Leader means that the Majority Leader slot in both the Senate and the House in Oklahoma City are people that know and understand agriculture about as well as anyone in the state legislature. The House Majority Leader, of course, is Dale Dewitt of Braman.

Here's the full list of State Senate’s committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for the 2011-12 session:

Agriculture and Rural Development Committee:
Sen. Eddie Fields, R-Wynona, Chairman
Sen. Ron Justice, R-Chickasha, Vice Chairman

Appropriations Committee:
Sen. David Myers, R-Ponca City, Chairman
Sen. Clark Jolley, R-Edmond, Vice Chairman

Business and Commerce Committee:
Sen. Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa, Chairman
Sen. David Holt, R-Oklahoma City, Vice Chairman

Education Committee:
Sen. John Ford, R-Bartlesville, Chairman
Sen. Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa, Vice Chairman

Energy Committee:
Sen. Cliff Branan, R-Oklahoma City, Chairman
Sen. Bryce Marlatt, R-Woodward, Vice Chairman

Finance Committee:
Sen. Mike Mazzei, R-Tulsa, Chairman
Sen. Rick Brinkley, R-Owasso, Vice Chairman

General Government Committee:   
Sen. Cliff Aldridge, R-Choctaw, Chairman
Sen. Roger Ballenger, D-Okmulgee, Vice Chairman

Health and Human Services Committee:
Sen. Brian Crain, R-Tulsa, Chairman
Sen. Sean Burrage, D-Claremore, Vice Chairman

Judiciary Committee:
Sen. Anthony Sykes, R-Newcastle, Chairman
Sen. Rob Johnson, R-Kingfisher, Vice Chairman

Public Safety Committee:
Sen. Don Barrington, R-Lawton, Chairman
Sen. Ralph Shortey, R-Oklahoma City, Vice Chairman

Retirement and Insurance Committee:
Sen. Bill Brown, R-Broken Arrow, Chairman
Sen. Cliff Aldridge, R-Choctaw, Vice Chairman

Rules Committee:
Sen. Rob Johnson, R-Kingfisher, Chairman
Sen. Jonathan Nichols, R-Norman, Vice Chairman

Tourism and Wildlife Committee:
To be determined at a later date

Transportation Committee:
Sen. Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa, Chairman
Sen. Mark Allen, R-Spiro, Vice Chairman

Veterans and Military Affairs Committee:
Sen. Jim Reynolds, R-Oklahoma City, Chairman
Sen. Steve Russell, R-Oklahoma City, Co-Chairman
Sen. Frank Simpson, R-Springer, Vice Chairman

Appropriations Subcommittee on Education:
Sen. Jim Halligan, R-Stillwater, Chairman
Sen. John Ford, R-Bartlesville, Vice Chairman

Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government and Transportation:
Sen. Bryce Marlatt, R-Woodward, Chairman
Sen. Cliff Branan, R-Oklahoma City, Vice Chairman

Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services:
Sen. Clark Jolley, R-Edmond, Chairman
Sen. Kim David, R-Wagoner, Vice Chairman

Appropriations Subcommittee on Natural Resources:
Sen. Ron Justice, R-Chickasha, Chairman
Sen. Eddie Fields, R-Wynona, Vice Chairman

Appropriations Subcommittee on Public Safety and Judiciary:
Sen. Jonathan Nichols, R-Norman, Chairman
Sen. Don Barrington, R-Lawton, Vice Chairman

President Pro Tempore Designate Brian Bingman previously announced his selection of Sen. Mike Schulz, R-Altus, to serve as Floor Leader.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Moderate Progress Made this Past Week in Corn, Soybean Planting with More Rain in the Forecast  Mon, 20 May 2019 17:35:49 CDT
  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2:00 p.m. Mondayy, May 20, 2019  Mon, 20 May 2019 16:40:53 CDT
  • Monday Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Mon, 20 May 2019 14:31:54 CDT
  • Monday Afternoon Market Wrap-Up with Carson Horn  Mon, 20 May 2019 14:23:50 CDT
  • USMEF Hopeful USMCA Ratification Happens Soon as Mexico, Canada Lift Retaliatory Tariffs on US  Mon, 20 May 2019 14:10:15 CDT
  • State Vet Dr. Rod Hall Advises Livestock Owners to Take Caution as Severe Weather Approaches  Mon, 20 May 2019 12:44:36 CDT
  • Farmers for Free Trade Urge USMCA's Passage After Administration Eliminates Section 232 Tariffs  Mon, 20 May 2019 12:31:43 CDT
  • FAPC Reminds You Grill Masters Out There to Keep Food Safety in Mind this Memorial Day Weekend  Mon, 20 May 2019 12:22:45 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Herbs Herb Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show AFR Insurance Stillwater Milling KIS FUTURES, INC. Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2019 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.