Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Scott and Brenda Neufeld Named 2011 Oklahoma Farm Bureau Farm Family of the Year

Mon, 14 Nov 2011 06:16:48 CST

Scott and Brenda Neufeld Named 2011 Oklahoma Farm Bureau Farm Family of the Year Scott and Brenda Neufeld of Major County were named Farm Family of the Year at Oklahoma Farm Bureau's 70th Annual Convention Nov. 12, in Oklahoma City.

The Neufelds were one of nine OFB district farm family finalists, chosen for their ability to best represent farming and ranching and the spirit of Oklahoma agriculture. As state winners, the family received the use of a General Motors pickup for one year, a free trip to the American Farm Bureau Federation Convention next January in Honolulu, Hawaii, and other prizes.

The family's full-time farming operation began in 1988, after Scott and Brenda graduated from college. Today, the Neufelds reside on their farm near Fairview where they use a crop rotation system to harvest alfalfa hay, wheat, canola and grain sorghum. Their cattle operation consists of 100 cow/calf pairs and 100-200 stocker calves they graze on winter wheat pasture.

Scott and Brenda are the parents of 19-year-old Carissa and 16-year-old Caleb. The couple's Farm Bureau involvement includes numerous local and state leadership roles. Scott has served as a county board member and county president, and Brenda is a former Farm Bureau Women's Committee secretary. Scott is OFB's current Farm Bill Advisory Committee chairman, and both have served on the state resolutions committee and as chairmen of the State YF&R Committee. The Neufelds also are very involved in their local church, mission trips, FFA activities and Ag in the Classroom events.

Other state awards handed out by Oklahoma Farm Bureau included:

YF&R Achievement Award- Zac and Amy Harris, Hobart

YF&R Excellence Award- Will and Jennifer Cubbage, Pawhuska

Distinguished Service to Oklahoma Farm Bureau Award- Ralph Kelly, Haskell County

YF&R Lifetime Legacy Award- Christy Smith of Ada (This was the first year for this award to be presented)

Young Farmers and Ranchers Discussion Meet winner- Chelsea Clifton, Kingfisher

John I. Taylor Award for Top County Farm Bureau Program- Comanche County

Click here for details of all of the other awards handed out Saturday evening at the 2011 Oklahoma Farm Bureau Convention.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Youth Expo Sale of Champions Sale Order Available Here- Sale Set for 4 PM Friday  Fri, 17 Mar 2023 04:50:54 CDT
  • Rural Voters Dominated Vote to Defeat Recreational Marijuana March 7th  Fri, 10 Mar 2023 07:13:05 CST
  • Ron Hays Talks to Israeli Ag Tour Guide Colin Lotzof About the Miraclel of Ag in Israel  Wed, 22 Feb 2023 22:11:04 CST
  • OALP Members Experience First Hand View of Cutting Edge Drip Irrigation Technology as Israel Travel Ends  Wed, 22 Feb 2023 10:51:49 CST
  • OALP Members Get First Hand View of Cutting Edge Drip Irrigation Technology as Israel Travel Ends  Wed, 22 Feb 2023 10:50:10 CST
  • Oklahoma Ag Leadership Program Sees Fruit, Beef and Dairy Production North of the Sea of Galilee in Israel  Mon, 20 Feb 2023 21:56:02 CST
  • Oklahoma Ag Leadership Program Sees Diverse Farm Operations in Jordan River Valley of Israel  Sun, 19 Feb 2023 21:17:30 CST
  • Israeli Tour Guide Mark Kedem Talks About The Cultural Aspects of What Class XX of OALP is Experiencing   Sat, 18 Feb 2023 22:17:23 CST

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2024 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.