Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Legendary Veterinarians Nominated for Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame

Tue, 10 Apr 2012 15:11:11 CDT

Legendary Veterinarians Nominated for Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame
One long-time Oklahoma veterinarian and four others representing more than 200 years of service in cattle production medicine, have been selected by their peers as nominees for the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame.

Dr. Don Williams, the first company veterinarian for Hitch Enterprises in Guymon, Okla., and Dr. John Herrick were nominated in the beef cattle division. Dr. Lee Allenstein, Dr. Jim Jarrett, and Dr. Elmer Woelffer were nominated in the dairy cattle division.

"This year's nominees are true pioneers in cattle production medicine," said Mark Spire, D.V.M., technical services manager for Merck Animal Health. "Each nominee deserves this prestigious award because of how his work has changed the landscape of the industry."

Five organizations sponsor the hall of fame including the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP), the Academy of Veterinary Consultants (AVC), Bovine Veterinarian, Merck Animal Health and Osborn & Barr.

Inductees will be selected by their peers, and all AABP and AVC members are eligible to vote for one beef and one dairy veterinarian. Voting begins April 13 during the AVC business meeting in Washington, D.C.

Beef nominees
Dr. John Herrick was an Iowa native and received his bachelor's, master's and veterinary medical degrees from Iowa State University. He practiced large-animal medicine before returning to Iowa State University, where he spent 35 years as a professor of veterinary clinical science and extension veterinarian. He pioneered the concept of preconditioning programs for weaned calves, which led to the Iowa "Green Tag" program. Dr. Herrick played a leading role in starting the American Association of Swine Veterinarians, the Society for Theriogenology, the use of artificial insemination and semen production standards. He also is known for his work on brucellosis and mastitis. He was a past president of American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), Iowa Veterinary Medical Association and the American Association of Extension Veterinarians. Until his death in 2007, Dr. Herrick spent his retirement years as an animal-health consultant in Paradise Valley, Ariz.

Dr. Don Williams is a Texas native and received his veterinary medical degree from Texas A&M University. After 18 years in private practice in Texas and Oklahoma, he became the first company veterinarian for Hitch Enterprises in Guymon, Okla. He later moved into feedlot management for Henry C. Hitch Feedlot. Dr. Williams developed the first national preconditioning program and was instrumental in developing large-scale cattle health programs, feedlot personnel training and scientific-based approaches to animal-health management. He is a founding member of AVC and served on the organizing board of AABP. Dr. Williams also served as president of the Oklahoma Veterinary Medical Association, AABP and the National Cattlemen's Foundation.

Dairy nominees
Dr. Lee Allenstein was born in Lamont, Iowa, and received his veterinary medical degree from Iowa State University. He practiced for more than 40 years in Whitewater, Wis., where he was known as "Doc." An expert in progressive veterinary medicine, he wrote more than 350 columns for Hoard's Dairyman. He was a driving force in establishing the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine, where he later became a clinical professor and faculty associate. He earned the Student Chapter AVMA Clinical Teacher Award in 1991 for his contribution to student laboratory teaching, clinical practice skills and business management. Dr. Allenstein served as World Dairy Expo's chief veterinarian for more than 25 years and continued to assist until his death in 2011. He was an honorary member of the World Dairy Expo Klussendorf Society, National Dairy Shrine Guest of Honor, and AABP Practitioner of the Year.

Dr. Jim Jarrett, a Georgia native, earned his bachelor's degree from Berry College in Rome, Ga., and his veterinary medical degree from the University of Georgia. After practicing for five years, he worked for the state of Georgia, developing one of the first milk-quality programs in the nation. He later returned to private practice and established a dairy-production consulting business. Dr. Jarrett was a widely-known expert in milk quality, dairy nutrition and reproductive management. He co-founded the AABP Quality Milk Pre-conference Seminar and was active in the World Buiatrics Association, AVMA and AABP. He also served as AABP president and executive vice president. Dr. Jarrett received many awards, including AABP Practitioner of the Year, the Amstutz-Williams Award and Georgia Veterinary Medical Association Veterinarian of the Year.

Dr. Elmer Woelffer grew up on a family farm in rural Wisconsin. He received his bachelor's degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and his veterinary medical degree from Cornell University. After graduation, he worked as a farm manager and veterinarian for H.P. Hood & Sons and Pabst Farms. He then entered private practice, retaining Pabst Farms as a client. He remained a private practitioner in Oconomowoc, Wis., until his death in 1995. Many consider Dr. Woelffer the father of bovine reproductive programs. He integrated sound scientific principles into reproductive programs and authored a herd-health column in Hoard's Dairyman. He was a member of the AVMA Executive Board and Professional Liability Trust. He received numerous awards, including the AABP Award for Excellence in Dairy Preventative Medicine and the Amstutz-Williams Award. He also was an honorary lifetime member of the AABP.

Inductees will be selected by their peers, and all AABP and AVC members are eligible to vote for one beef and one dairy veterinarian. Voting begins April 13 during the AVC business meeting in Washington, D.C.

The Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame was established in 2011 to celebrate the rich traditions of production veterinary medicine by honoring the exceptional men and women who have made lasting contributions to the veterinary profession.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2 p.m. September 30, 2022  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 16:43:53 CDT
  • Chairman David Scott Releases Statement Congratulating Vincent Garfield Logan on His Confirmation to Farm Credit Administration Board  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 15:07:33 CDT
  • Op-Ed from Kenneth Corn: USDA- We Serve Rural Communities Too  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 14:57:02 CDT
  • Hard Red Winter Wheat production lowest since 1957  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 14:44:28 CDT
  • Latest Southern Plains Perspective Blog: Hot, dry, dust and smoke all outside the back door.  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 13:47:21 CDT
  • Wheat Production Estimates for Oklahoma Fall Six Percent from August to September   Fri, 30 Sep 2022 12:16:36 CDT
  • Younger Cows are Starting to Come to Town, Says Bob Rodenberger  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 10:46:55 CDT
  • BASF's First Bale of Cotton Helps Raise Money for Scholarship  Fri, 30 Sep 2022 10:12:04 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2022 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.