Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Oilseed Commission Seeks Candidates for District 3 Post

Wed, 14 May 2014 15:53:43 CDT

Oilseed Commission Seeks Candidates for District 3 Post
The Oklahoma Oilseed Commission will conduct an election for the commissioner position representing District 3 of the Commission. District 3 consists of the following counties: Woods, Alfalfa, Major, Blaine, Kingfisher, Canadian, Grant, Kay, Garfield, Noble, Logan, Payne, Oklahoma, and Lincoln. Voters in District 3 will elect one commissioner to serve a five (5) year term beginning July 1, 2014. The election will be conducted beginning May 22, 2014 and ending June 6, 2014.

Anyone who is at least 25 years of age, is a resident of Oklahoma, has been actually engaged in the production of oilseed (canola or sunflowers) in the state for a period of at least two (2) years and derives a portion of their income from the production of oilseed is eligible to serve on the Commission. Candidates must also reside and farm in one of the counties comprising District 3.

The five member Oklahoma Oilseed Commission administers the check off funds which are collected on oilseed grown in the state. An assessment determined by the Commission is collected and used to develop programs that will enhance oilseed production, provide for oilseed research, promote market development and education, and improve profitability of Oklahoma oilseed production.

To provide proportionate distribution of commission members, the state of Oklahoma has been divided into five districts. Each oilseed producer in the district who is actively engaged in the production of oilseed in commercial quantities in the current fiscal year (July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014) is eligible to vote. The voter must farm in one of the counties making up District 3.

The District 3 election will be conducted by mail-in ballot. Ballots will be available from the Oklahoma Oilseed Commission office, County Extension Offices in District 3, and grain elevators by May 15, 2014.

Voters must mail their completed ballots to the Oklahoma Oilseed Commission office, Attn: Ron Sholar, Executive Director, P.O. Box 2106, Stillwater, OK, 74076.

Ballots must be postmarked no later than midnight, June 6, 2014.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Oklahoma Grain Elevator Cash Bids as of 2 p.m. October 5, 2022  Wed, 05 Oct 2022 15:02:36 CDT
  • October 5, 2022, Market Wrap-Up with Justin Lewis  Wed, 05 Oct 2022 14:16:44 CDT
  • Growth Energy Cheers Missouri Biofuel Incentives Signed into Law  Wed, 05 Oct 2022 13:59:17 CDT
  • Congressman Lucas Announces October Town Hall Meetings in Oklahoma Panhandle  Wed, 05 Oct 2022 13:58:09 CDT
  • Upcoming OLAC Workshop to Help Grow Capacity of Local Oklahoma Agriculture   Wed, 05 Oct 2022 12:00:20 CDT
  • OKFB Welcomes Appropriation of Additional Drought-Relief Funds   Wed, 05 Oct 2022 10:58:31 CDT
  • Oklahoma Public Employees Association Endorses Governor Kevin Stitt  Wed, 05 Oct 2022 10:30:51 CDT
  • OSU Extension Reduces Lab Testing Rates for Drought-Stricken Producers  Wed, 05 Oct 2022 10:27:18 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Oklahoma City Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2022 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.