Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211


Agricultural News

Porter FFA Wins 2012 Livestock Handling Skills Contest at Tulsa Farm Show

Mon, 10 Dec 2012 06:02:44 CST

Porter FFA Wins 2012 Livestock Handling Skills Contest at Tulsa Farm Show

The 2012 Tulsa Farm Show hosted the annual FFA Livestock Handling Skills Contest on Friday, December 7th, with eight teams competing from across the state of Oklahoma. The Porter FFA Chapter team won the competition, scoring 300 out of a possible 328 points. Porter FFA members that were on their winning team included K.C. Barnes, Halle Barnes and Jaord McKinney.

The teams that qualify to compete at the Tulsa Farm Show are actually chosen in July during the Big Three Livestock Judging event that is held on the campus of Oklahoma State University. Teams that wish to compete in December take a written test in Stillwater in July on issues that relate to proper handling and treatment of animals, administering drugs to beef animals and more. Once notified that they have qualified to compete in Tulsa as one of ten top teams in the state- each team prepares a tabletop display about responsible care for animals as you handle them- and prepare to actually work a chute and process two animals on a timed basis. Among other things- the team will eartag an animal, put an implant into the ear, treat the animal for parasites and administer appropriate shots for the age of calf they are working.

Second place honors were won by Madill FFA, with Shiann Burns, Tucker Burns and Luke Chapman making up the team. Third place was the team from Crescent FFA chapter, with Julie Semrad, Tee Barnes and Tommy Ryland on their team. The fourth place slot was claimed by the Hydro-Eakly FFA Chapter, with Terrin Frontenot, Ty Wheatly and Reece Harvey being their team members.

Pictured above is the winning team from Porter, as they processed one of their two calves. McKinney was working with the head of the animal, Halle Barnes was working on the on the side and KC Barnes was recording all of the steps that the team accomplished. Each student that advances to the Tulsa competition wins scholarship dollars.

The American Farmers & Ranchers is the title sponsor of the annual contest.

There are pictures of all eight teams receiving their scholarships and other prizes for being a part of the contest- we have them posted on our Flickr page- click here to jump there and see those and all of the pictures we took this past week at the Tulsa Farm Show.



WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI


Top Agricultural News

  • Expansion Partners to Heal the Harvester  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 11:55:46 CDT
  • Hilliary Communications to Launch $45 Million in Fiber-Optic Infrastructure Expansion in Rural America  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 11:48:59 CDT
  • Ralph Lauren Corporate Foundation and Soil Health Institute Unveil New U.S. Regenerative Cotton Program  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 11:34:52 CDT
  • Fire Weather Watch in Effect in Oklahoma Panhandle Ahead of Developing Storms  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 10:34:06 CDT
  • CattleFax CEO Randy Blach Says Inflated Prices are Here to Stay  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 10:23:01 CDT
  • Fanning joins OKFB as Economic Development Coordinator  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 10:02:07 CDT
  • Food Safety: The Dirty Truth About Shopping Carts  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 08:42:32 CDT
  • Evaluating Money Saved When Purchasing Feed on Cost per Unit of Protein and Energy Basis  Tue, 26 Oct 2021 08:30:04 CDT

  • More Headlines...


    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.


    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2021 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.